Sweet disposition: Mock mango cheesecake

openerMemories are tricky. I have an elephant’s memory, which can suck. Of all my memories, crappy and good – the taste of my mum’s fake mango cheesecake is my favourite.

Mangoes are a big deal in India. Restaingredientsurants start serving “mango specials” and every household has its members eating mango in various forms. Yes, to say mangoes are a big deal in India is an understatement. I used to love mangoes as a kid [and I was a fat kid]. So when I discovered from some evil spewing person that mangoes make you fat, I stopped, immediately. Much to the disappointment of my mother who knows how much I love the damn fruit.

Which brings me to today’s recipe. Every summer, my mum would make this dessert, which is somewhat like a cheesecake, minus the cake or cheese [but since I have no other name for it, that’s what I’m going to call it]. It was special treat as she would make it only once a year. If we were lucky, she would sometimes make it twice.

I made miniature versions of it and it transported me back to my childhood.

With mango season almost coming to an end, I usually stock up on the fruit by freezing the pulp. That way you can enjoy mangoes all year round. Back in the late 1980s and early 1990s, the amount of cheese available in the Indian markets were limited to Amul cheddar cheese and if the speciality stores did stock, it usually wasn’t worth spending so much money. My mum is a very clever lady and this is why I call this a fake mango cheesecake. There’s actually no cheese in it, but it tastes like one. There’s no baking required and is a child-friendly recipe as long as an adult oversees the procedure.

Mock mango cheesecake

cheesecake2 Alphonso mangoes
500ml milk
3 tsp sugar
1 Lemon
8 digestive biscuits
Butter for greasing

– Begin by crushing the biscuits in a food processor or by putting them in a plastic bag and rolling them with a rolling pin, then mix a few drops of milk to make it moist and isn’t crumbly.
– In a mixer add chopped mangoes and 2 tsp of sugar to make a thick pulp.
– Heat milk, once it reaches a fierce boil simmer the flame and the juice of 1 lemon, keep stirring till the milk curdles and sheds the water. Take it off the flame and strain the curdled milk. Once its cooled, add 1tsp sugar and churn in a mixer.
– Grease the dish you’ll make your cheesecake in [I chose shallow glass dishes]. Layer the crushed biscuits evenly.
– Add the layer of churned sweet milk on top of the biscuits and finally top it off with the mango pulp.
– Put in the freezer for a minimum of 1 to 1 and 1/2 hours. Smaller dishes will take less time.
– You can decorate your mock cheesecake with mango slices [I didn’t]. Serve chilled.

Leave a Reply

